IFA Open Letter to Scott County Grand Jurors

[Note: Hard copies of this letter below, along with the enclosures listed below, were mailed via USPS certified mail to the names listed below on Thursday August 25, 2011.  Contact information for these grand jurors can be found here.]
August 25, 2011
TO: Scott County Iowa Grand Jurors:
Rosemary Hasenmiller (Forewoman)
Mark Burgmeier
Tochcia Butler
Ellen Frey
Andrew Nanspreybroeck
Cheryl Shuppy
Angela Ubel
Alternates, Scott County, Iowa Grand Jurors:
Daniel Armstrong
Eric Baker
Yvonne Hamilton
Kristine Royster-Teitle
Bradley Simmons
Kevin Tague
Nanette Trudell

FROM: Scott County Iowans For Accountability (IFA)
PO Box 514, Bluegrass, Iowa 52726

RE: Grand Jury Toolkit
Dear Scott County Iowa Grand Jurors:
Thank you for serving and protecting the people of Scott County. Please note the attached copy of Scott County Attorney Mike Walton's June 14th letter notifying you that you may be contacted.

Iowans For Accountability (IFA) was formed in August 2010 as a Non Party Political Organization, under Iowa Code Title II, Chapter 44.1. IFA has been scrutinizing government activity in Scott County such as the consolidated dispatching center (aka SECC911), Scott County Board meetings and staff communications, and Scott County Courthouse procedures and proceedings. IFA seeks to increase government accountability and transparency. To that end, when the citizens of Scott County have access to a fully informed and active Grand Jury, the people can be protected from government overreach and injustice.

The body of both Mr. Walton's letter and this letter (without your names) will be published in the next issue of IFA’s newsletter The Concerned Citizen. Your names and contact information (attached) will be available at the IFA website for concerned citizens who wish to contact you.
We have compiled this open letter to augment your grand jury training and to generate more awareness of the full scope and importance of the Grand Jury's duties and responsibilities.

Scott County Grand Jury Contact List

These Grand Jurors are in service through February 2012.
Click here to read the IFA Open Letter to Scott County Grand Jury.
Note: 1-7 are seated grand jurors; 8-14 are alternates

The contact information was provided by Julie Carlin, the Clerk of the Court
(563) 326-8607 julie.carlin@iowacourts.gov

Video: IFA Questions SECC911 Progress Report

Thursday, August 18, 2011 | DAVENPORT, IOWA - Scott County Emergency Communications Center, aka SECC911 http://www.secc911.com - Monthly board meeting of the unelected board members who over see the consolidated dispatching of Bettendorf, Davenport and Scott County. Brian Hitchcock is the SECC911 Director who reports to  (l to r) Tom Sunderbruch (Scott County Supervisor), Bill Gluba (Davenport Mayor) and Marty O'Boyle (Eldridge Mayor) and off camera to the left Dr. Frank Claudy (Medic EMS Board President) and not present Mike Freemire (Bettendorf Mayor).


At the 6 min mark http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SOfsuIgWWFU&feature=player_detailpage#t=368s SECC911 board member Dr. Frank Claudy president of Medic EMS board, is reassured that the reason the 911 dispatcher can't switch the call to Medic is a "compatibility issue."

They Decide 2012: Obama, Romney, Paul, Perry, Bachmann

A very informative chart being shared at the Iowa GOP Straw Poll in Ames, Iowa on Saturday August 13th, 2011.   One person's view on the day in Ames and what it means to IFA members, is also available here.

Photo by Jesse Anderson